Films, Books, Musings-With the Glamour of Old Hollywood and the Flair of the Retro

If Life is a Bowl of Cherries, What am I Doing in the Pits? by Erma Bombeck

In Books on January 26, 2013 at 2:00 pm

20130126-135312.jpg

Oh happy days! Fans of humourist Erma Bombeck (1927-1996) will be pleased with the news that Open Road Media have released a selection of her books as ebooks! No more musty library copies of Bombeck’s books for me! I have been lucky enough to revisit “If life is a Bowl of Cherries…” and would like to share some of Erma’a words to whet your appetite for a bowl of cherry-delicious humour as Erma finds the fun and beauty in domestic life.

“I worry about scientists discovering someday that lettuce has been fattening all along.”

“A woman can walk through the Louvre Museum in Paris and see 5,000 breathtaking paintings on the wall. A man can walk through the Louvre Museum in Paris and see 5,000 nails in the wall.”

“Now a fitting room to me has always been like a confessional…where my body and my contrition take up the entire room.”

” I’ve seen kids ride bicycles, run, play ball, set up a camp, and race for eight hours…yet have to be driven to the garbage can.”

“The last time my family laughed was when my oven caught fire and we had to eat out for a week.”

“The bad times I can handle. It’s the good times that drive me crazy. When is the other shoe going to drop?”

Oh Erma, I wish you were still with us… I would love to hear your take on mobile phones and texting each other when you are all in the same house, reality t.v and idol, teenage boys with the waist of their pants around their knees and botox foreheads and collagen lips. Somehow, I don’t think she would bat an eyelid.

Read more about Erma Bombeck and her recently re-released titles at Open Road Media- Erma Bombeck

Leave a Reply

