Films, Books, Musings-With the Glamour of Old Hollywood and the Flair of the Retro

Last minute Rocky Road Brownie Cake

In Recipes on August 4, 2011 at 3:34 pm


I decided that rather than buy a birthday cake for my husbands birthday tomorrow, that I would make one. I had been wanting to use up a brownie mix that had been calling to me every time I opened the pantry. Also I had to use what I already had for the topping rather than hit the supermarket for icing sugar,which I didn’t have.

This is what I came up with,
Rocky Road Brownie Cake

Follow the directions on the brownie mix package but bake it in a cake tin rather than a brownie tin. It took the same time and becomes a rich,dense cake.

While the cake is cooking prepare the toppings.
Possible topping could be:
Chopped nuts
Chopped glace cherries
Chopped Turkish delight
Mini marshmallows
Crushed cookie crumbs
Chopped lollies

I can’t use nuts if my kids are eating it so I used mini marshmallows,chopped gummi bears,crushed cookies and rainbow choc chips.

As soon as the cake comes out of the oven,whilst it is still in the tin,start sprinkling on the topping,marshmallows first,because they melt a little and act like a glue. Work quickly while the cake is hot. When all the topping are added,sprinkle choc chips over the top of it all.
Return the cake to the still hot oven ( turned off though) with the door open for 3 minutes. Then allow to chill in the freezer for about 1 hour it until the topping is set enough for the cake to be able to be removed from the tin. I will be storing the cake in an airtight container for a day.

It was really easy plus it didn’t require a trip to the supermarket, and it looks pretty cute.

I have to add that the bits that ‘fell’ onto the counter indicate that this cake will taste pretty good too!

Leave a Reply

